Sunday, January 29, 2017

2017 Draft results

First round
1. Cobourg  Chris Cloutier, KW Braves
2. Brampton  Connor Brown, Halton Hills Bulldogs
3. Cobourg  Joel Coyle, Orangeville
4. Oakville  Dallas Bridle, Orangeville
5. Brooklin  Austin Divitcos, Orangeville
6. Oakville  James Barclay, Mimico Mountaineers

Second round
7. Cobourg  Dylan Hutchison, Peterborough Lakers
8. Brampton  Dereck Downs, Mimico
9. Brampton  Liam Wright  Sarnia Jr B
10. Oakville  Trevor Smyth, Orangeville
11. Cobourg  Andy Campbell, Orangeville
12. Brampton  Lucas Ducharme, Orangeville

Third round
13. Peterborough  Brett Coons, Peterborough
14. Brampton  Bennett Drake, Whitby Warriors
15. Cobourg  Jamie McMahon, Orangeville
16. Brampton  Nolan Clayton, Orangeville
17. Brooklin  Sean Darroch, Whitby
18. Peterborough  Cody Filson, KW Braves

Fourth round
19. Cobourg  Drake Smith, KW
20. Cobourg  Logan Holmes, Windsor Jr B
21. Oakville  Andrew Mullen, Toronto Beaches
22. Six Nations  Oran Horn, Six Nations Arrows
23. Brooklin  Rylee McKinnon, Clarington Shamrox Jr C
24. Peterborough  Will Petschenig, Green Gaels Jr B

Fifth round
25. Cobourg  Cole McWilliams, Peterborough
26. Cobourg  Josh Miller, Peterborough
27. Oakville  Matthew Lee, Mimico
28. Oakville  Eddie Renaud, Oakville Jr B
29. Brooklin  Nick Karam, Whitby
30. Peterborough  Pat Masterson, KW

A Look at Prospects for Today's MSL Draft

Chris Cloutier is the top prospect for the MSL draft. He was a star at North
Carolina and in junior box lacrosse. 
Draft day is here. The 2017 Major Series Lacrosse draft of graduating juniors will take place shortly after 1 pm today in Whitby. The draft will be live tweeted on the MSL Twitter account, so you can follow along as it happens. In the meantime, we'll take a look at some of the most enticing prospects available.

Bear in mind that 14 of the best players in this draft class were protected by the the MSL teams affiliated with their Jr A clubs. Teams can protect up to four players each. Peterborough and Oakville protected the maximum, Six Nations three players and the other three teams one player each. The full list of protected players is available in an earlier story on the MSL site.

One player stands as the clear the top selection in the draft. Chris Cloutier is a star lefty forward. He comes from the Kitchener-Waterloo Braves program, although he was traded away each of the last two years to teams making Minto Cup runs: the Coquitlam Adanacs in 2015 and the Six Nations Arrows in 2016.

Cloutier has been on the radar for MSL and NLL teams since he broke into the OLA Jr A loop as a 17-year-old. He was called up for the playoffs and was a significant contributor for the KW Kodiaks in the playoffs each of his first three years of junior. Until the Kodiaks moved to Cobourg in 2016, it was always assumed he would be protected by them when he graduated junior. Since Cobourg's affiliation switched to the Toronto Beaches with the move, Braves grads are now open for the draft.

Friday, January 27, 2017

Rock and Lakers protect maximum four graduating juniors, other lists shorter for January 29 draft

The Oakville and Peterborough Lakers protected the maximum four players for Sunday's Major Series Lacrosse draft of graduating juniors. Three teams protected just one player each while the Six Nations Chiefs protected three. In order to protect a graduating junior, another player must be moved off a team's 25-man active roster.

The Lakers class was no big surprise. It includes a pair of elite transition prospects in Matt Gilray and  Thomas Hoggarth, both of whom went to the Minto Cup last year after being traded to the Orangeville Northmen. (a Jr A team's MSL affiliate retains possession of a players rights if he is traded in his final year of junior eligibility). Peterborough also protected a pair of forwards: star righty Cam Milligan and grinder Dan Michel, who was a three-year captain for the Jr A Lakers.

Oakville adds a deep group as well, including a pair of defenders who were taken in last year's National Lacrosse League draft, Justin Martin and Lauchlin Elder.

Monday, January 9, 2017

MSL draft to be held January 29 in Whitby

John St John was taken by the Cobourg Kodiaks with the first overall pick in last year's MSL draft. (Photo: Tim Prothero)
The 2017 Major Series Lacrosse draft of graduating junior players will be held on Sunday, January 29 at 1 pm and will be hosted in Whitby by the Brooklin Redmen.

MSL teams can protect up to four players from their Jr A affiliate (for protection purposes). For each player they protect, they must drop a player from their existing protected list. 

The teams from which MSL teams' protect players are:
Brampton Excelsiors--Brampton Excelsiors
Brooklin Redmen--Whitby Warriors
Cobourg Kodiaks--Toronto Beaches
Oakville Rock--Burlington Chiefs
Peterborough Lakers--Peterborough Lakers
Six Nations Chiefs--Six Nations Arrows