Tuesday, August 2, 2016

Major Series Lacrosse announces year-end award winners

Shawn Evans of the Peterborough Lakers has won the Jim Murphy Award for most valuable player in Major Series Lacrosse for the second time. Evans also led the league in scoring, with is 82 points being 13 more than anyone else scored even though he sat out the last two games of the season.

The Lakers also took the Harry Lumley Award for fewest goals against. The award is shared by Matt Vinc and Evan Kirk who gave up just 120 goals between them.

The league's top defensive player and winner of the Merve McKenzie Awards is Graeme Hossack of the Brooklin Redmen.

Tyson Bell of the Brampton Excelsiors and Jordan Durston of the Six Nations Chiefs tied for the Gene Dopp Memorial Trophy presented annually to MSL's outstanding rookie.

The Oakville Rock trio of Matt Sawyer, Jon Harasym and Pat Campbell won the Terry Sanderson Award for the top coaching group.