Thursday, May 21, 2015

17 players on MSL rosters among 23 named to Canada's team for 2015 World Indoor Lacrosse Championships

Major Series Lacrosse players have provided the vast majority of the players named to Canada's squad that will look to win the country's fourth gold medal in as many World Indoor Lacrosse Championships when the tournament is played this September on the Onondaga Nation in upstate New York.

The Canadian Lacrosse Association released the final roster this week and 17 of the 23 players selected are on MSL rosters.

The finalists from last season lead the way with four players each. The Six Nations Chiefs have goalie Brandon Miller, defenders Billy Dee Smith and Dan Coates and forward Dhane Smith on the national team. The Peterborough Lakers' selected players are goalie Matt Vinc and forwards Shawn Evans, Adam Jones and Curtis Dickson.

Brampton Excelsiors defenders Kyle Rubisch, Chris Corbeil and Paul Dawson will help lead the Canadian back end. Scott Campbell and Steve Priolo of the Brooklin Redmen join them.

Oakville forward Stephan Leblanc and transition player Brodie Merrill give the Rock a pair of players on the team. Transition player Jordan MacIntosh is the only KW Kodiak named to the squad.

Of the four Western Lacrosse Association players named to the team, two have spent the majority of their senior careers in MSL. Forward Dan Dawson is playing with the Victoria Shamrocks this summer after a legendary career with Brampton. Ryan Dilks is back for a second season with the Shamrocks after two years with KW, after one of which he was named MSL's defensive player of the year.

The other two players named to the team are playing exclusively in Major League Lacrosse in the summer. Lefty forwards Mark Matthews and Zack Greer are both graduates of the Whitby Warriors Jr A program. Greer won a Mann Cup with Brampton in his only full senior season in 2011.

Below is the full roster.

Player Summer team NLL Team

Aaron Bold Victoria Shamrocks (WLA) Edmonton Rush
Brandon Miller Six Nations Chiefs (MSL) Toronto Rock
Matt Vinc Peterborough Lakers (MSL) Rochester Knighthawks


Billy Dee Smith Six Nations Chiefs (MSL) Buffalo Bandits
Brett Mydske Langley Thunder (WLA) Edmonton Rush
Brodie Merrill Oakville Rock (MSL) Toronto Rock
Chris Corbeil Brampton Excelsiors (MSL) Edmonton Rush
Dan Coates Six Nations Chiefs (MSL) Colorado Mammoth
Jordan MacIntosh KW Kodiaks (MSL) Minnesota Swarm
Kyle Rubisch Brampton Excelsiors (MSL) Edmonton Rush
Paul Dawson Brampton Excelsiors (MSL) Rochester Knighthawks
Ryan Dilks Victoria Shamrocks (WLA) Edmonton Rush
Scott Campbell Brooklin Redmen (MSL) Rochester Knighthawks
Steve Priolo Brooklin Redmen (MSL) Buffalo Bandits

Lefty forward

Adam Jones Peterborough Lakers (MSL) Colorado Mammoth
Mark Matthews Rochester Rattlers (MLL) Edmonton Rush
Ryan Benesch KW Kodiaks (MSL) Buffalo Bandits
Stephan Leblanc Oakville Rock (MSL) Toronto Rock
Zack Greer Denver Outlaws (MLL) Edmonton Rush

Righty forward

Curtis Dickson Peterborough Lakers (MSL) Calgary Roughnecks
Dan Dawson Victoria Shamrocks (WLA) Rochester Knighthawks
Dhane Smith Six Nations Chiefs (MSL) Buffalo Bandits
Shawn Evans Peterborough Lakers (MSL) Calgary Roughnecks