Tuesday, April 14, 2015

24 MSL players form majority of Canada's 37-man training roster for WILC

Brandon Miller won a Mann Cup MVP last year. Now he has a chance to
make Canada's team for the world championships. (Photo: Tim Prothero)
The Canadian Lacrosse Association has released the list of 37 players who comprise its training roster for the national team that will compete at the 2015 World Indoor Lacrosse Championships and 24 of the players hail from Major Series Lacrosse teams.

The Six Nations Chiefs lead the way with six players selected to the 37-man roster, which will be whittled down to 23 to form the team that will actually compete at the worlds on the Onondaga First Nation this September. New acquisitions Dillon Ward and Dhane Smith join holdovers Brandon Miller, Dan Coates, Jesse Gamble and Bill Dee Smith.

The Peterborough Lakers and Oakville Rock each had five players named to the roster. There were also four players from the Brampton Exclsiors, three from the Brooklin Redmen and two from the Kitchener-Waterloo Kodiaks.

The full list of MSL players named are listed below. For a full list of the players invited, go the Canadian Lacrosse Association website.

Six Nations Chiefs
Brandon Miller
Dillon Ward
Dan Coates
Jesse Gamble
Billy Dee Smith
Dhane Smith

Peterborough Lakers
Matt Vinc
Brad Self
Shawn Evans
Adam Jones
Cory Vitarelli

Oakville Rock
Jordan MacIntosh
Brodie Merrill
Jason Noble
Rob Hellyer
Stephan Leblanc

Brampton Excelsiors
Sandy Chapman
Chris Corbeil
Paul Dawson
Kyle Rubisch

Brooklin Redmen
Scott Campbell
Kiel Matisz
Steve Priolo

Kitchener-Waterloo Kodiaks
Joey Cupido
Ryan Benesch