Monday, July 29, 2013

Chiefs wrap up first place season with 10-5 win over Rock

The Six Nations Chiefs have finished alone atop Major Series Lacrosse for the first time since 1996. They finished their regular season with a 10-5 win over Oakville in which they outscored the Rock in each of the three periods. Roger Vyse led the way with 3 goals and 3 assists; Scott DeFrancesco added 2 goals and 2 assists for the Chiefs. Five different players scored for Oakville, with Kyle Davis their top points man as he added 2 assists to his goal.

Brenner Jacobs got the win in goal for Six Nations in his first MSL start. "It was the utmost surreal moment in my career," Jacobs told the Brantford Expositor. "Oakville's goalie, Tye Belanger, was my goalie coach in Wallaceburg (Jr. B) last year. He told me all last year to just keep working hard so you can get to where you want to go. That's what I've been all about this year."

The Chiefs finish the season with a 16-3-1 record and will be at least 7 points ahead of second place (Peterborough will reach 26 points if they beat Oakville Monday night). 1996, their last solo finish in first place, was the last of three straight Mann Cup seasons for the Chiefs, who haven't been back to the national championship since then. They did tie for the MSL lead with Brampton in 2009, when Cody Jamieson became just the second player to win the MSL MVP, scoring title and Rookie of the Year awards in the same season.